7.23.09 L.A.

I didn’t have much luck in LA. I didn’t go “out” as much as I thought I would. Second, when I did – and I mean this with utmost respect – I didn’t see anything that was striking.

I had a couple observations:

1. Weather. I used to think dry heat was “better than” the humid (and hot) weather people experience in places like NY. I’ve grown to like NY summer weather. In LA, I felt debilitated. Granted, I was in the San Fernando Valley, where it’s usually 5-7 degrees warmer than inner-city LA area. But when it’s already 95, 100 isn’t much worse. This really and seriously affects fashion. Which brings me to my related/corollary point.

2. Weather and City Affect Fashion. It’s very noticeable that people like to be comfortable in LA. I think people sacrifice less. This might be inherent to the city structure. Whereas in more condensed city spaces people have to sacrifice space, time and comfort because of population density and established public transportation, in LA most people drive everywhere. As I have described plenty of times to friends and family, in LA you leave your private home, enter your private garage, get in your private car/SUV, drive on public streets and highways that are privately subsidized, arrive at your private business… and do the same thing on the way back home. This could be comfortable, unless of course you’re stuck in traffic on the 405 or 101. I find myself experiencing the space with less spontaneity and interaction with the public. This is not to say that communities do not exist – ‘communities’ are weaved in larger more sprawling spaces. The notion of community needs to be discussed in larger detail, which I won’t do, but I will say that though LA has a ridiculously happening cultural base (and I predict that LA is going to give NY a run for its money in terms of art and culture in the next 10 years or less), it is inaccessible because of its draped design.

Really this can go on and on, but in my heart I love LA like no other.

2 Responses to 7.23.09 L.A.

  1. Jimmy says:

    Props to you for not being like many other New Yorkers who think the universe begins and ends in NYC. I’m a native Los Angelino and I can tell you what we’re doing in art and street fashion in Silverlake, Echo Park, and Downtown LA definitely holds its own with the amazing things I’ve seen in New York. I am jealous that you guys get to layer. LA maxes out at three pieces of clothing per person and most bars dont even have a coat check.

  2. perspectivessliced says:

    Jimmy–

    Thanks for the comment. Here’s something that I didn’t mention in the post: I’m actually from LA myself. Though these days I consider myself more of a New Yorker (especially when I visit my family in CA/LA specifically… I feel displaced), I still consider LA home to one extent or another.

    I couldn’t agree with you more. I used to hate on LA like many others, but over time–especially very recently– I have realized there’s a lot more happening there than people think. My biggest issue is when people from “Nor-Cal” bash Los Angeles. They have just as many bros, strip malls and suburbs (if not more)… not that that’s the measure necessarily (ha).

    But yes, layering is huge. Coat check in LA is like trying to find a recycling bin in South Dakota. Ok maybe not that bad, but yes… weather is HUGE. It’s why I like falls and winters in NY.

    Again, thanks for the comment. I’ll be in LA this Fall/Winter. Keep a lookout for TowardStyle!

    -Sarkis

Leave a Reply

